Farmhouse Outdoor Table

Hey Guys!

I’m so excited to share this project I did. It may be my favorite yet! I have to give credit to Ana White’s Blog. My husband’s brother referred me to her blog. She is great! Basically, she is who I aspire to be :). 

Trying to tie our backyard all together before summer heats up! The decks in..just needs to be stained! We were left a backyard table set but it’s old and not my style. So obviously, I wanted to make one. I just LOVE the farmhouse table. I refinished our dining room table and have been dying to make another table. It’s kinda my thang’. I also made a farmhouse desk. This table I made is legit. If you can believe it, I didn’t just wing’ it…I did measurements and everything! Ha. Here we go…

Materials needed:

  1. Wood: 4 2x2x8 4 1x4x8 4 1x10x8 1 2x4x8
    1. **TIP**(For those of you who are new at this…if you don’t know what those numbers mean, don’t worry..I just learned this past year! 2x2x8 means 2in thick by 2in wide by 8ft long)
  2. 2 in screws
  3. screwdriver
  4. measuring tape
  5. level
  6. pencil
  7. circular saw
  8. stain
  9. paint/paintbrush 

I then decided how long I wanted the table to be. The measurements that Ana White’s Tutorial showed, did not match what I wanted. So this is where I kind of went on my own..but thanks Ana White for a great idea of what I should be doing! 

Our deck isn’t that big so I wanted the table to be about 6ft (72in) long. I decided to cut my wood in these measurements.

  • 2 1×4 at 72in (this is the structure to hold the table..it’s the length of the table..but the actual table with the boards on top will be about 5.5in longer) 
  • 2 1×4 at 26in (these are for the width of the structure)
  • 8 2×2 at 24.5in (these are for the boards to screw into-they go inbetween the 1×4’s)
  • 4 1×10 at 77.5in (tapletop pieces)
  • 2 1×4 at 29 1/4in (legs)
  • 2 2×4 at 29.1/4in (legs)

After all of that was cut I placed it upside down on a flat surface. Made sure the 3 1×10’s were even and butted up to one another so that there was no space in between each. I then grabbed my screws and screwdriver and screwed from the Image

The only time I screwed from the top was at each end of the table. I made sure I really countersunk those screws so that you wouldn’t see them. Then I filled all of the countersunk screws with wood filler!Image

Lastly I added the legs. I screwed 3 screws into each leg. I screwed in an ANGLE, so that the screw wouldn’t come out the other side.

ImageImageImageImage

I added Dark Walnut stain to the top (two coats only). I did two coats of EXTERIOR white paint to the legs and undersides. I will add a coat of EXTERIOR wood protector coat to the top as well! And now we have a table to enjoy bbq’s with friends and family!

Stay tuned for the BENCH!ImageImageImageImage

XOXO,

Amanda Andy

About Amanda Andy Sudol

I'm a city nurse trying to kick pediatric cancer's ass while taking my frustrations out on furniture & house reno in the suburbs. I also renovate anything that I possibly can get my hands on. From knocking down ceilings & walls to building new kitchens and walls and painting any piece of furniture I find...I'm trying to learn how to do it all. My husband thinks I'm nuts, but there's no other way I'd like it :). I hope you enjoy reading my journey to HGTV stardom' (ha ha....in my dreams)!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

