Friend’s Dining Room Table Redo

Hey Guys!

I am so excited to show you this piece that I refinished for my best friend since elementary school!!! We were out to lunch one day and she was saying how she wanted to get a new dining room table, and I said “well hey, why don’t I make you one?” Well a few weeks later, this turned up at my door!

ImageImage

I was very nervous. I haven’t really done much for others, but I am determined to get a little side business going of refinishing/making furniture, so I had to get over my fear somehow! Why not start with your best friend who can’t be mad at you if ya mess up? Ha!

Her lovely boyfriend brought me the table disassembled. The top was disconnected from the bottom so I could work on it more easily. The part that I wanted to get perfect, was to make it exactly how THEY wanted it, and not how I wanted it. As you know from most of my posts, I paint EVERYTHING a light “rustic shabby chic” look. But they were going for a more mature classy look. I think (hope) I pulled it off for them!

I first started by sanding the top of the table real well. ImageImage

After getting it sanded down to its bare bones, I wiped it with a clean/damp cloth to get all the dust off. 

Then I started staining …..and staining….and staining….ImageImage ImageThey wanted it to match the trim of their dining room which is a dark stain. So I decided to use dark walnut. I applied about 8 coats!!!!! I have never applied that much stain to a piece, but again, I like everything light. I must say I was LOVING the classy dark look of the top! Very Pottery Barn like. *TIP** Remember to wipe after a few minutes after each stain has been applied with a clean lint free cloth** 

Let the stain dry for a good 24 hours and then apply the top coat. They wanted that “shiny” look for the top of the table. This also helps protect the top of the table. I applied two coats of clear gloss polyurethane. The only part I did not do, was sand in between each coat of polyurethane which many people recommend. I believe this gets the some what “rough” feeling off the top and makes it feel Super smooth. I tested out sanding but felt it wasleaving little marks, so decided against it. 

Next I painted the bottom piece and the piece that hangs off the top a glossy black. ImageImageImage

I then tested my polyurethane spray (like spray paint). I hated it. I feel like it left streaks and runs. But it did it’s job. I wanted to have some polyurethane on the bottom for when people kick it by accident, I don’t want it chipping for them.

I think the table came out how they wanted. (I hope at least). Now, I want to paint a piece dark for my house, because it looks so classy! 

ImageImageImageImageImage

They also asked me to paint an old little dresser she had found at the curb. Image She wanted it to look like my shabby chic style. I painted it a very light beige (3 coats-to cover the dark blue). I sprayed the hardware gold. I couldn’t distress it because the piece was made out of old plywood (very junky-ha ha). But it came out super cute and perfect for a little bar for them! Gotta’ love free stuff from the curb-a coat of paint changes ANYTHING! *I really wanted to do a stencil to the top, but they wanted it plain for now. Dang. Hehe.

ImageImageImage

Hope you guys enjoy the pieces as much as I enjoyed doing them for my best friend!

XOXO,

Amanda Andy

 

About Amanda Andy Sudol

I'm a city nurse trying to kick pediatric cancer's ass while taking my frustrations out on furniture & house reno in the suburbs. I also renovate anything that I possibly can get my hands on. From knocking down ceilings & walls to building new kitchens and walls and painting any piece of furniture I find...I'm trying to learn how to do it all. My husband thinks I'm nuts, but there's no other way I'd like it :). I hope you enjoy reading my journey to HGTV stardom' (ha ha....in my dreams)!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

