Refinished Bedside table and crystal lamp

Hey Guys!

Because of this cold weather that won’t seem to go away, I have had to choose projects that can be painted inside! So because I’m starting to decorate my master room (I am trying to do it slow and the way I want!), I decided to refinish my old bedside table. I wanted to keep it because it has two drawers, and until my walk in closet is ready, I’ll need all the storage I can get :)! So instead of buying a new table (who does that?) I checked out all my handy paint samples I have. I decided that I didn’t want to distress it like the other dresser I did. I chose a light yellow (basically off white/light beige) and a dark grey. I originally painted the drawer fronts this pale blue, but it looked awful so I changed it to the dark grey-which came out light grey, but I like it. (Sorry I got excited and started before I remembered to take a before pic, so it’s a halfway through pic!)

ImageImageImage

I didn’t prep the piece at all! I removed the hardware and then gave it three good coats. I am going to slap a coat of polyurethane on the top so that it doesn’t get all banged up. I put two crystal knobs on the top drawer (the last of my knobs that I had ordered on amazon) and sprayed the bottom hardware piece in silver. Carried it upstairs and it’s all set! Took me one day! 

ImageImage

After I took these pic’s, I decided to finish the lamps that I had bought a month ago at my favorite consignment shop (where else?). I had been eyeing some crystal lamps at the stores that were going for $75-150. I obviously wasn’t going to spend that and decided to search for one from the consignment shops. I personally think everything’s way better when it’s old, used and abused! I found two great old school crystal lamps for $15 and $9. I have been debating on how to finish them and decided to paint the bases a coral. I originally didn’t want too much color in my master, but a few pops of coral (to match the teal in the headboard I made) is just right! **I am debating changing the headboard fabric to a navy-what do you guys think!?** I grabbed a sample size of coral from lowes (and there’s plenty extra in case I want to paint some picture frames with it, yay) and painted the bases. I think I am going to stencil a fun pattern in coral on a white shade, but for now I grabbed an extra shade I have and put that on it!  I rushed this because I wanted a lamp to be ready for tonight so it’s still drying, but now on a piece of paper on my new side table. I’ll go to bed a happy gal :). 

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Have a great weekend (I’ll be working-life of a nurse!)

XOXO,

Amanda Andy

About Amanda Andy Sudol

I'm a city nurse trying to kick pediatric cancer's ass while taking my frustrations out on furniture & house reno in the suburbs. I also renovate anything that I possibly can get my hands on. From knocking down ceilings & walls to building new kitchens and walls and painting any piece of furniture I find...I'm trying to learn how to do it all. My husband thinks I'm nuts, but there's no other way I'd like it :). I hope you enjoy reading my journey to HGTV stardom' (ha ha....in my dreams)!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

