DIY Fabric Linen Table

Hey Guys!!!

Long time no talk! Sorry I haven’t posted in a few weeks (! ah!) but I have been working hardcore on the renovation upstairs! I am SO close to being done, I cannot wait!!!! It has been a longer process than I anticipated two months ago when I ripped down all that paneling but I am almost DONE! That way I can attack all the furniture I am itching to refinish!! I found an AWESOME old antique dresser for our master, which I am going to use my new DIY chalk paint recipe, so await future posts on that! I am very much looking forward to being done with RENOVATION and start furniture refinishing. I have been hoarding a ton of new pieces that I find now and then at my favorite consignment shops, so I have a lot of projects awaiting me! I just need THE TIME!

Today was a snow day! So being forced inside with not enough materials to work upstairs, gave me a great excuse to try out this new project I’ve been dying to do! Refinishing a piece of furniture with fabric! I luckily had all the materials hanging around! Remember when I told you guys to always buy wrapping paper if you liked the design, well do the same with fabric! Doesn’t matter if it’s a curtain, table cloth, table runner, shower curtain, etc…my motto is if you like the design, buy it! You will always find something to do with it later on! I have a whole drawer full of different fabrics that I have found that I hold onto. I had recently found this one panel window curtain on clearance and loved the neutral light linen design so obviously I bought it. Perfect for this project! *Which isn’t totally finished but I haven’t posted in so long and the weather didn’t permit me to get the finishing piece, so I posted this project anyways!

I have to give a shout out to this awesome blogger who inspired me to do this project. Her table came out GREAT! 

What you need to refinish a table with fabric:

  1. Table or dresser
  2. fabric
  3. scissors
  4. water based polyurethane
  5. bristle brush
  6. razor blade
  7. wax if you want
  8. tape measurer
  9. pencil
  10. IRON!

As usual (hehe) I had this piece that was left by the previous home owner ImageImageImage

I wiped it down with my all time favorite windex and got started! I first measured the width and length of the top. I wanted to use one large piece to wrap around all the edges so I measured it that way. ADD 2 inches extra if you have a lot of fabric, you can always cut away the excess! *TIP* I had one large piece of fabric for the top and sides and then seperate pieces for the legs. Image

After you have cut your first piece of fabric, use your bristle brush and brush on the polyurethane to where you will be applying the fabric. After you have brushed on the polyurethane, place the fabric smoothly on the wet polyurethane. Take your HOT iron and iron the fabric onto the table. The heat of the iron is what adheres the fabric onto the polyurethane making it essentially be “glued” to the furniture. 

ImageImage

Because I placed such a large piece of fabric to cover essentially the entire table, I polyurethaned and ironed in sections. I also tucked the fabric real tight to get the edges to look nice as I ironed. When I got to the corners I had some trouble. I probably would do it differently next time, and this piece isn’t perfect but I’m still happy for my first time! 

The corners you have to cut and fold, to get a nice “miter” cut look. This is what is supposed to happen. I couldn’t get this to happen so I basically fiddled around with it until I liked how the corners look. Image (sorry for bad quality)ImageImage

 

Once the top was all nice and snug and ironed on..I measured each leg and finished the legs. *TIP: Don’t rush and cut the leg fabric pieces too short (like I did) because then it won’t look right, and you’ll have to add little pieces to each bottom of the legs.

It’s pretty tedious but the final project is well worth it! I am going to add nail heads to the edges as well but the lovely snow storm delayed me from leaving the house to pick them up! So I will add an updated picture and mini tutorial on how to add the nail heads!

*You can also polyurethane the top of the fabric once it’s adhered to the furniture to add more “sturdyness” to the fabric and once that’s dry add furniture wax to the top of the that. I didn’t do that yet, I’m nervous it’ll darken the fabric and I love the “light” look of this fabric!ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Stay warm in this weather for my east coast readers 🙂

XOXO, 

Amanda Andy

 

 

About Amanda Andy Sudol

I'm a city nurse trying to kick pediatric cancer's ass while taking my frustrations out on furniture & house reno in the suburbs. I also renovate anything that I possibly can get my hands on. From knocking down ceilings & walls to building new kitchens and walls and painting any piece of furniture I find...I'm trying to learn how to do it all. My husband thinks I'm nuts, but there's no other way I'd like it :). I hope you enjoy reading my journey to HGTV stardom' (ha ha....in my dreams)!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DIY Fabric Linen Table

  1. Megan says:

    Wow! Love it! I never thought of doing this to a table…would be so much easier than trying to paint that pattern on!

  2. Megan says:

    Wow! Love it! I never thought of doing this to a table…would be so much easier than trying to paint that pattern on!

  3. Pingback: Coral, Gold, Wrapping Paper Dresser Redo (little room reveal!) | Home.Reno.Lover

Leave a Reply

