DIY Headboard (fabric panel wall)

Hey Guys!

I have to give you guys a sneak peak of the headboard I made for our master room today! I know I should probably wait until the bed is in and I can “accessorize” for the photos, but I have to show you because I completely just made it all up and it came out exactly how I envisioned, if not better!!!

The walls are slanted in the rooms upstairs so having a regular headboard wouldn’t work..it would make the bed be out a few inches from the wall and would look “off”. I have been eyeing the tufted upholstered headboards in Pottery Barn and Pier 1…and was thinking of how I could make it work in our soon to be master room. And of course..I wanted to make it. So instead of making a stand alone headboard, I thought why not make the entire wall a headboard? Staple some fabric to it and voila’. And basically that’s what I did!!!

First I went to Joann Fabrics and bought some “bating” to make the headboard “puffy” on the wall. It was SO expensive and the woman didn’t help me measure correctly and when I went to start my project there wasn’t enough.  I was pissed. But then I thought I should just go with my original plan and use a Queen size egg crate, which I bought from K Mart. I measured how wide our existing Queen bed is and then I measured how wide and long I wanted the headboard to be. I marked that all on the wall. I then measured my egg crate and cut it to correct size. I nailed that up to the wall. I had to use thicker nails because otherwise the small nails went right through the egg crate. (obviously…?) 

ImageImageI

Once the egg crate was secured to the wall I measured out my material that I had bought from JoAnn Fabrics the same day I had bought the bating. I originally was determined to get a navy pattern but when I couldn’t find that exact pattern or color anywhere and the closest to it was a lot of mula’, my sister convinced me to spend less money & go with this beautiful pattern. Since I was totally just winging’ this project on my own and wasn’t sure if it would work out, that was a great idea. I also ended up LOVING how the pattern looked with the molding at the end and now I won’t feel so guilty when in a year I’m tired of it and want to change it out!…Anyways, I cut the fabric’s width 2in longer on each side of the egg crate. I had to cut it in two pieces because of how they sell it…but I fudge’d it and I don’t think you can see the seam so much. I also didn’t pull the fabric tight, I left some wiggle room because that’s how you get the tufting look. **TIP: If you have patience and want to sew the seams together, that’d probably look even better..but I am not one with patience.I also didn’t pull the fabric tight, I left some wiggle room because that’s how you get the tufting look.ImageImage

 

Now was the most tedious part. I wanted to use molding on the outside to frame out the headboard. I am getting better at miter cuts, and these cuts are the easiest. I had some molding laying around from the hallway ceiling molding I’m currently doing. I measured the top length first and did the cuts and when I went to test hang it, I cut it two short. Dang. I remeasured and recut. Each cut is a 45* miter cut. I used a miter box & saw. Easy breezy. I also pencil how the cut should be, before I cut it…that way I can envision the cut and make sure I’m using the right angle as I’m sawing. I measured both side lengths and again cut them and used a 45* angle, but now it’s opposite so it fits nicely with the other cut. **SEE PIC I didn’t nail them up but I layed them on the floor and made sure the cuts were lining up. ImageImage

I then brought them down to the basement and sprayed them with my favorite metallic gold spray paint!

While they were drying I had to do the second most tedious part, glue the fabric onto the buttons for the tufting.I didn’t use actual buttons, I have no idea what these are but I liked that they had a nail attached to them so I could nail them in and they’d tuft that way. Image

I have no idea if I did this right, I just cut some fabric and glued it to those “furniture gliders”. (I think the go on the bottom of chairs…to each their own!)

By the time I was done with doing all the buttons, the molding was dry. I nailed it onto the headboard…this also I fudge’d (what else is new). I was having a lot of difficulty getting the fabric to stay under the molding & the molding to stay flush against the wall..but after a lot of nails and cursing, it’s staying put. ImageImage

I realized that I needed a to extend the molding down where the slanted wall meets the straight wall (the beadboard). I measured and sawed those pieces & sprayed them. While those were drying I hammered in the buttons with nails because the actual buttons weren’t strong enough for the egg crate-they kept popping out….so the nails next to them helped them stay & “tuft”. You really can’t see the tufting in the picture because the fabric is the same material, but in person you really can see!!! I quickly nailed up the bottom molding and it’s DONE!!! Just waiting for the ceiling molding and floors to be finished and then the bed will be up there! I got way too excited and wanted to share this diy project with you guys before I did the FINISHING touches! I have to paint over the nail holes & the molding seams (the one sided molding cracked so I have to spackle and paint that too)..but you guys get the gist’ of what the finished project will look like 🙂 !!!! ImageImageImageImage

Image*ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

**I got nail heads to put along the edge as well, but now I think it will take away from the pretty molding, what do you guys think?? Nail heads or no? Thanks! As always, LOVE to hear your feedback!

xoxo,

Amanda Andy

 

About Amanda Andy Sudol

I'm a city nurse trying to kick pediatric cancer's ass while taking my frustrations out on furniture & house reno in the suburbs. I also renovate anything that I possibly can get my hands on. From knocking down ceilings & walls to building new kitchens and walls and painting any piece of furniture I find...I'm trying to learn how to do it all. My husband thinks I'm nuts, but there's no other way I'd like it :). I hope you enjoy reading my journey to HGTV stardom' (ha ha....in my dreams)!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

