Chair redo with glazing

Hey Guys!

Sorry I haven’t posted in awhile! I am working like crazy on the upstairs renovation and it’s finally paying off! I am starting to finally see some progress of what it’s going to look like when its done :)!!! For those of you who have been following, the master room is ALMOST done! I am so excited! It’s so much more fun to do now that I can SEE the progress. It’s gets rough when hours after hours you do all that work and feel like you’re not getting anywhere! Stay tuned for the master reveal :)!

I haven’t been doing much work on any furniture because of the upstairs, but I do keep stumbling upon some great pieces! I just found an awesome piece at my favorite consignment store that I just HAVE to ( wink wink) check in on once a week. This piece was cheap and perfect size for my upcoming DIY sink vanity project so I obviously had to buy it **STAY TUNED! There was also an awesome antique armoire that needed some TLC and was dirt cheap, even my 2yr old niece wanted me to buy it. But right now I have no where to put it….so no lovin’ from me. This is why I need my own store so then I can buy all these pieces! Ha!

I was waiting for the paint to dry upstairs and was wondering around my basement wanting a quick project. I remembered I had this old chair I got from a garage sale when we first moved here. It was $5! I went to ALL 100 of my paint samples (I’m very indecisive when choosing paint) and grabbed a fun purple color I’ve been dying to test out. I also have been dying to try some glazing and had bought some antique glaze from lowes awhile back. So painting I went!ImageImageImage

Image

The chair cushion came right off so I tossed that to the side until I was done painting. I sanded the whole chair down lightly with sandpaper before I got started to “rough” up the chair so the paint would stick. I then gave it two coats of paint. Image

Image

After the second coat I grabbed my antique glaze. I brushed it on thickly to where the detail is and then wiped it off with a cloth. I didn’t want it too dark since this is the first time I was using it. It definitely makes the detail on the back of the chair stand out!

I also had some stored fabric from a table cloth that I loved (remember anytime you see a pattern you love it doesn’t matter if its a curtain, shower curtain, table runner..keep it because you never know when you can use it)! I stapled it onto the chair (by wrapping the fabric on the cushion and tucking it under it and stapling it under the cushion). It’s a really cute small piece. I’ll probably stick it in the hallway upstairs when it’s all finished. Or I could sell it if anyone is interested :).

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Xoxo,

Amanda Andy

 

About Amanda Andy Sudol

I'm a city nurse trying to kick pediatric cancer's ass while taking my frustrations out on furniture & house reno in the suburbs. I also renovate anything that I possibly can get my hands on. From knocking down ceilings & walls to building new kitchens and walls and painting any piece of furniture I find...I'm trying to learn how to do it all. My husband thinks I'm nuts, but there's no other way I'd like it :). I hope you enjoy reading my journey to HGTV stardom' (ha ha....in my dreams)!
This entry was posted in Furniture Redo, painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

