DIY Wood Pallet Sign

Hey Guys!

Hope you all enjoyed your weekend. I’ve had these wood pallets for awhile now sitting in my garage and I needed a much needed break from renovating upstairs, so I decided to do a quick Sunday afternoon project while my husband worked out! **Upstairs Renovation Update-I am at a standstill. I have to do the molding….and I just cannot for the life of me figure out the cuts. I also think I’m a tad burnt out from doing most of the renovation myself. . After a lot of cursing and ruining a lot of molding, I took a step away. I stared at the trim for two hours trying to wrap my mind around “angle cuts”. I can do a lot of DIY but this one is really stumping me! So if any of you DIY’ers have any tips, PLEASE share! My awesome dad’s coming over to give me some tips as well so hopefully I’ll figure it out sooner or later, because I have A LOT of molding to do…aka the entire upstairs & the chair rail for the beadboard. Awesome! Good luck to me!

Anyways…my neighbor had taken their fence down so to my husband’s horror I obviously drove by & grabbed a bunch of his beautiful wood pallets that are already beautifully naturally distressed. :). I have A TON of ideas of great things to do with these, but sadly I only grabbed a few because I was rushing hoping my new neighbors wouldn’t think I’m nuts.

I LOVE quotes, SO i decided to do a fun wood pallet sign I see in all the stores for so much money.

I first pulled out all the nailsImageImage

I then decided how many boards I wanted. I LOVE rustic natural distressed look so I didn’t even have to touch these! After all the nails were out I used my awesome circular saw that I’m getting so handy at and sawed off the top points. Sometimes the signs look cute to keep these and **HEADBOARDS (great idea must I say…stay tuned!) but I wasn’t going for that look.Image

**TIP always saw anything with the back side up, because sometimes the saw breaks off some of the wood you’re working with …that way it’ll be on the back so it won’t show! 

After the points were sawed off I sawed an extra piece of pallet in half & used that to hold all the pieces together on the backside ImageImage

I nailed the halved pallet to the back onto each piece making sure I didn’t nail through to the front 

Once it was all nailed together I got out my stencils from AC Moore (always use a 50% off coupon). I have a ton of sample paints and decided I wanted to use a very light yellow that I had. **It’s great to always keep your sample paints, you never know when you’re going to use them. Also, if you have a certain color in mind & don’t have it around the house, just buy it in a sample size…which will be more than plenty and only $2.50!

I mapped out how I wanted the quote to look in my head…and just went ahead and painted each letter stencil. It’s not really a science! And I didn’t want a “perfect” look so if it was crooked that was fine to me!

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Now I just have to find the perfect spot for it. 

Hope you find some great pallets from the curb to make these 🙂 (They’re also only about $1-2 at lowes).

XOXO,

Amanda Andy

 

About Amanda Andy Sudol

I'm a city nurse trying to kick pediatric cancer's ass while taking my frustrations out on furniture & house reno in the suburbs. I also renovate anything that I possibly can get my hands on. From knocking down ceilings & walls to building new kitchens and walls and painting any piece of furniture I find...I'm trying to learn how to do it all. My husband thinks I'm nuts, but there's no other way I'd like it :). I hope you enjoy reading my journey to HGTV stardom' (ha ha....in my dreams)!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

