Bar Redo

Hey Guys!

Love finding old stuff and restoring it…there’s no greater feeling. The previous owner of our house had left a beat up old butcher block wood piece in the basement. It had cobwebs and all on it. I pulled it out of its hiding place in the basement and noticed it actually had a lot of potential and was pretty rustic looking! So sanding I went….(I unfortunately don’t have a before pic but try to envision a cobwebby old wooden piece).

I sanded the top of the piece with 100 grit sandpaper with my electric sander. I skimmed over the rest of the piece lightly with 100grit sandpaper by hand. I wiped it all down with a VERY LIGHTLY DAMP cloth. I grabbed some old antique white paint I had and gave the bottom two coats of that. I stained the top with my favorite stain I use for everything..and if you read my posts you know I really mean EVERYTHING. I gave it two coats with the stain. When the paint was dry on the bottom I scuffed the doors up with 180grit sandpaper to make it look “distressed”. You only have to do this VERY LIGHTLY otherwise it won’t look authentic. I had some cute flower knobs for the handles that would add to the “shabby chicness” I so love.  I left the top alone and so far it has been fine. I host a lot of “get together’s” and spills have not stained it, but again if you’re nervous of that you can either wax & polyurethane it or just polyurethane. I like minwax brand for both.

I have changed up the look A LOT as I feel..especially with the holidays. It’s a lot of fun to have a mini bar for the dining room! It was just calling my name because the size was perfect for the extra space I needed to fill :). 

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

 

XOXO,

Amanda Andy

About Amanda Andy Sudol

I'm a city nurse trying to kick pediatric cancer's ass while taking my frustrations out on furniture & house reno in the suburbs. I also renovate anything that I possibly can get my hands on. From knocking down ceilings & walls to building new kitchens and walls and painting any piece of furniture I find...I'm trying to learn how to do it all. My husband thinks I'm nuts, but there's no other way I'd like it :). I hope you enjoy reading my journey to HGTV stardom' (ha ha....in my dreams)!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

