Beadboard Wallpaper Post 1

Hi guys!

I haven’t been able to do much with furniture these days because as you know from my other posts, I’ve been saying I’m renovating my upstairs. The entire upstairs. So in between spackling, sanding, painting, and more spackling….I finish small little projects. Right now I have a chair I scored from a garage sale this past summer drying from two coats of paint…I’m going to glaze it tomorrow so stay tuned! (love glazing!)

My upstairs walls are a MESS. I ripped the 70’s wood paneling down and was left with drywall with large black glue spots all over it. ImageImage

(we also knocked some walls down and built a wall to make two rooms)

After A LOT of thought and failures (hated how textured paint came out) I decided I wanted to do bead board. After reading some other great blog posts I decided to go with the bead board wallpaper since it was just me doing this project and regular bead boards are hard to cut and handle by yourself.  Shout out to this blog for helpful hints!

Before I could start the wallpaper process I had to smooth down the black glue marks (they were very raised and bumpy). I read that the wallpaper hid a lot of damaged walls but still needed to go onto a somewhat smooth surface because it will show bumps **and it does so make sure you smooth your wall down as much as possible!!! I first started with the “small room” upstairs. I spackled all the black marks and then sanded the spackle with a drywall hand sander. **TIP I didn’t sand or spackle as well as I should have in the small room, so I learned in this room and did MUCH better in the master’s room. You have to learn somehow! Luckily it didn’t come out too bad so I can keep it and furniture will probably be hiding the spots where the bumps really show.

Once all the spackle was nice and smooth, I primed the walls with wallpaper primer. It’s a clear gloss and dries in an hour!ImageImage

While the primer was drying I gathered all my tools. What you need:

level

sponge

utility knife

scissors

ruler or measuring tape

pencil

wallpaper smoother

seam roller

trim guide (straight edge for smoothing wallpaper)

First decide how high you want the bead board to go. Our top walls are slanted (kind of like a cape cod house) so I wanted my bead board to go up to where the slant starts. Mark a line around the perimeter of the room for the height of the bead board. Measure the height from the line to the floor and add 2 inches (you can ALWAYS cut the excess, but you don’t want to be too short, that’d be a waste of paper)! **add more than 2 inches if you are nervous you’ll be short Turn the wallpaper upside down and cut your measurement. **Use that piece to cut ALL the other pieces if it’s going to be the same height throughout the room. You do this because after you cut a few you start to get tired and may not cut it the same height, just an easy thing to do. **TIP A great save timing method is to cut all the pieces before hand. Image

For this wallpaper it was pre pasted so I only needed to hold it under the shower for 30 seconds and let the glue “set” for 5 minutes (folding the paper in half allows the glue to set).Image

When you hang your first piece on the wall you MUST use the level to make sure that piece is level, otherwise it’s going to be crooked!! Fit it against the wall and before you smooth it check to make sure it’s level. Image

Once it’s level, use your smoother to smooth the air bubbles out and adhere the paper to the wall. While you’re smoothing you can wipe away the excess glue that seeps out. Once you’re happy with it being smoothly on the wall use the seam roller along the seams, going up and down at least 2-3 times. Again, wipe away any excess glue with the sponge. **TIP let the wallpaper dry for 24hrs before cutting the excess trim off on the bottom..If you do it while it’s wet, it may get slimy & rip the wallpaper-remember it’s not like normal wall paper, it’s kind of foamy.Image

When you come upon an outlet, you want to put tape over the outlet so you don’t ruin it with glue. Then place your paper over it and once you smooth it on, you can use the utility knife to cut the box around the outlet.Image

I also had a lot of wires coming out of the walls for phones and such so I just simply cut a slit down from the hole of the wire and then pulled the wire through and pushed the seams back together using the smoother & seam roller.Image

When all the wallpaper was up I put on two coats of Valspar Satin White. It looks just like real bead board!

The small room has A LOT OF bumps but the master looks great. I CANNOT WAIT to add the chair trim. I just have to finish up the top of the wall…which I’m doing textured paint able wallpaper to! And it’s looking great 🙂 Slowly but surely the upstairs will be live able sooner or later! Stay tuned for the chair trim 🙂 ImageImageImage

I’ll post soon on the TEXTURED PAINTABLE WALLPAPER I used for the top half of the wall & then the final touches like the chair trim & ceiling molding. Good luck to me with the saw & miter cuts. As always I LOVE to hear feedback so let me know what you think & any questions! 🙂

XOXO,

Amanda Andy

About Amanda Andy Sudol

I'm a city nurse trying to kick pediatric cancer's ass while taking my frustrations out on furniture & house reno in the suburbs. I also renovate anything that I possibly can get my hands on. From knocking down ceilings & walls to building new kitchens and walls and painting any piece of furniture I find...I'm trying to learn how to do it all. My husband thinks I'm nuts, but there's no other way I'd like it :). I hope you enjoy reading my journey to HGTV stardom' (ha ha....in my dreams)!
This entry was posted in painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

