Window Frame Pictures and Wall Stenciling Gone Bad

Hey Guys!

The other day was Christmas #2 for me! A great craigslist find of an AWESOME dresser for my “little room” upstairs for when it’s done being renovated. The dresser is the perfect size for the awkward space and the best part is it was only $40 and is in great shape!  Just needs a good sanding & painting-stay tuned because I’ll be using the ever famous annie sloan chalk paint!!! While I was driving my beautiful new treasure home I passed my favorite consignment furniture shop, which I know is always closed on Mondays. Out of the corner of my eye I noticed some furniture hanging outside of the store and with a shriek of delight (and scaring the crap out of my dad) I swerved the car into the parking lot of the shop. There was a TON of furniture just waiting for me to take it. Realizing we couldn’t fit anymore into my small SUV, home we went to get my dad’s SUV my sister, mom and the babies. So a half hour later ….two babies, a shih tzu, 3 crazy ladies and an awesome dad…we got 3 dressers and an antique mirror. I am  thrilled!!!!! I am making a dresser for my niece and nephew’s new rooms in their new house. Perfecto!

Image(two babies a dog three lunatic ladies an awesome dad & 3 large dressers…we didn’t have to leave a baby behind)

So after that awesomeness I decided to jazz up my window frame I got from my parent’s neighbors curb (thanks Dad…again)! Image

I originally was going to make it a headboard for my twin bed, but I have a different Idea for that (stay tuned). I love making the room look very shabby chic (what else is new), because once my upstairs is done It’s going to be my “craft room”.   I bought some cute/pretty scrapbook paper from AC Moore. Grabbed the window and taped the scrapbook paper to the backside of the window with medical tape (because I’m a nurse). I then used my handy new picture hanging kit (thanks to my awesome hubby’s xmas gift). I grabbed the level and my screwdriver & hung it up! **TIP** whenever hanging a picture ALWAYS use a level.

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Image

You can see the wall to the left of the window I tried out stenciling. It was a last minute project & I bought the stencil from AC Moore and rushed it. I am not crazy how it turned out so I haven’t posted about it. I bought a bigger stencil so I’m debating painting over it & trying it out again with the new stencil. I think it will turn out better with the bigger Moroccan design. You can also see I was rushing because I didn’t invest in and buy the correct paint brush to stencil. I used a regular paint brush…which is a no no. You want to use a real stenciling brush so the paint is the same darkness throughout. You can see spots where the dark purple is lighter…So with the bigger Moroccan stencil & correct stencil brush I think it’d look fab. What do you guys think? Keep it or repaint…I guess it’s always good to show your failures too!

IMG_6121 IMG_6125

Enjoy the snow day for those of you in New Jersey/New York!

XOXO,

Amanda Andy

 

About Amanda Andy Sudol

I'm a city nurse trying to kick pediatric cancer's ass while taking my frustrations out on furniture & house reno in the suburbs. I also renovate anything that I possibly can get my hands on. From knocking down ceilings & walls to building new kitchens and walls and painting any piece of furniture I find...I'm trying to learn how to do it all. My husband thinks I'm nuts, but there's no other way I'd like it :). I hope you enjoy reading my journey to HGTV stardom' (ha ha....in my dreams)!
This entry was posted in Creative Furniture, Furniture Redo, painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Window Frame Pictures and Wall Stenciling Gone Bad

  1. Liz says:

    i love this!! i would hire you to make me one….

  2. Heather says:

    Just another “normal” day for the George gang!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

