DIY Barn Door for Pantry

Hey Guys!

Let me start with just call me Mrs Carpenter! Ha Ha. This project I’m pretty pumped about! I didn’t think I could do it on my own & started off with help from my hubby, but then when I heard he was going to be stuck at work late, I decided to tackle it myself..and I did. I LOVE how it turned out!!!

I’m sure you saw these awful pantry doors in my kitchen reno reveal…they are actually what all the cabinets originally looked like, yuck!Image With Christmas coming up (which we’re hosting for the first time!) I decided this past weekend to tackle these doors, which are one of the last things to redo in our kitchen. I decided I really wanted to try barn doors. My other thought was to wallpaper them (which I still think would have been pretty neat) but decided our kitchen needed little country in it. I didn’t really do any research on this, and kind of just “winged” it. I started out with measuring the doors and then with the help of my hubby we decided I would need eight 1×6’x8’s. **TIP** (Because I had NO idea what this meant I thought I’d share what I learned….) The 1 stands for the thickness of the wood, the 6 stands for the width and the 8 is the height. We only needed 6.5ft so hubby used a circular saw to cut them to that length. Once they were cut I once again stained them with my FAVORITE stain ever. I’ve used this on so many projects now. The best part is that I’m still on my original can since moving into the house & doing a bunch of projects with it! ImageImageImage

Remember when staining, wipe the stain on (I use an old cloth) in an even motion-make sure to get the sides of the wood because that will show. Let first coat sit for 5 minutes then wipe down with clean cloth. I did two coats of this. I let it dry for a day (you can really wait a few hours and it’ll be ready as long as you don’t mind getting your hands a little dirty)!

Then last night my husband and I were hanging out & decided to start the door! I really felt like I would need his help throughout the process…so have to take advantage of when he has down time, because that’s not very often with him being an actuary at a new job!

We started out by clamping the first piece of wood to the original pantry door. My husband said to use a level-which he’s obsessed with-to make sure it was level, but the original doors are so old, it wouldn’t be level no matter what-so obviously I objected :). Image

Image Next is attaching the wood (I don’t have it shown in the picture but I also have a clamp on the bottom as well so the woods nice & flush). I got out 1 5/8″ screws and drilled from the back through the original door into the wood-so that the screws wont show! After some frustration I decided to do pilot holes before screwing the screw in because it was hard for me…and the pilot holes helped a lot!ImageImage

Repeat steps over until all 8 6.5ft wood pieces are on!Image

Ed and I had only gotten the first 4 wood pieces on the left door when we noticed that each wood piece isn’t actually 6in in width like it says ** 1x6x8….ugh! Stupid wood. That’s why I am always going to measure the wood at lowes…it was actually only 5.5in-ed gave me the reason but I was so annoyed I don’t remember why that happens…but it did and we had 2inches of exposed old door. Image

We had to come up with a solution! And we did! I decided the door would look awesome with some trim-just like a real barn door..I oringally didn’t think that much into the design aspect, I just dived right into the project (what else is new)…but after looking up some barn doors on good ol’ pinterest I noticed most of them do have a trim! So we decided last night to stop and not put the rest of the wood up and that  today I would go to lowes & get 3 1x4x8 for the trim & the hardware as well. When I got home…I realized I didn’t have Ed to cut the wood & then I got a text from him that it’d be a late night for him tonight….so circular saw here I come! Ed had taught me how to do it once before..so I figured how hard could it be.

I stained all the new wood I had just bought, let it dry outside for a few hours and got to cutting. I tested out my cut on some old wood to make sure It’d be even. The pieces came out pretty even for a first timer like me, must I say! I cut two pieces to 6.5 feet for outer trim and then I cut the top and bottom trim to 20.5in. I clamped and screwed the trim in. I had to do a lot of measuring to make sure that I was screwing into the old door then through the 1x6x8 wood then into my trim. I also did use the level for the trim because it wasn’t sitting flush on the old pantry doors so it’d be obvious if it was crooked. ImageImage

I bought some fence hardware that I liked the look of screwed that in as well. I didn’t use the screws that came with the hardware (it was super heavy duty and would split the wood) but used my regular 1 5/8 screws and it held nicely. I am going to get two more hinges for the bottom as well. But I do Love how it came out & proud it’s my first “carpentry” job done all by myself!!! Ed will be nice & surprised when he gets home!ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Have an awesome night!

XOXO

Amanda Andy

About Amanda Andy Sudol

I'm a city nurse trying to kick pediatric cancer's ass while taking my frustrations out on furniture & house reno in the suburbs. I also renovate anything that I possibly can get my hands on. From knocking down ceilings & walls to building new kitchens and walls and painting any piece of furniture I find...I'm trying to learn how to do it all. My husband thinks I'm nuts, but there's no other way I'd like it :). I hope you enjoy reading my journey to HGTV stardom' (ha ha....in my dreams)!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to DIY Barn Door for Pantry

  1. Shira says:

    Love it! Well done. I’ll be referencing this page when I settled into a new place. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Sliding Barn Door Plans | My Burb Home

Leave a Reply

