DIY Shelving

Hey Guys!

Wanted to write a quick post about how to make your own shelves! It’s SO very easy & looks great. I will be posting our kitchen reveal soon and wanted to give you a sneak peak of the shelves I did. I LOVE the open concept look, but as much of an OCD gal I am, I also am not the most organized, so I knew I couldn’t get rid of ALL our shelves, dang. I decided to rip out one set of shelves that were randomly placed on a wall. ImageImageImage I put some new drywall up on top where it was missing, spackled it, primed it and painted it blue to match the rest of the kitchen! I just painted right over that plywood & it looks totally fine, you can’t even tell it’s not drywall right there! PHEW. I then bought some wood from lowes. The size of it totally depends on how big you want your shelf. How wide and and how long-so make sure you measure!!!!! I bought the size I wanted & sawed off the length I needed. I bought pretty brackets from lowes as well. I gave all of these 3 coats of white semi-gloss paint. Then I screwed each bracket into the wall (using toggle bolts) & placed the wood on top and VOILA’ you have your own shelf. My husband wanted toggle bolts instead of regular screws in each bracket because I put a lot of heavy plates on each shelf, so the toggle bolts keep it more secure in the wall. I put little mini hooks under the top shelf so I can hang mugs. I also made a shelf for the bathroom, which I think I’m going to make a second as well. **TIP** the frames in the the bathroom were old black frames so I took out the glass & spray painted them gold! I then replaced the glass & put fun scrap book paper in the frame!

Enjoy your shelf making 🙂 STAY TUNED for our kitchen reveal this week!ImageImageImageImageImage

XOXO,

Amanda-Andy

About Amanda Andy Sudol

I'm a city nurse trying to kick pediatric cancer's ass while taking my frustrations out on furniture & house reno in the suburbs. I also renovate anything that I possibly can get my hands on. From knocking down ceilings & walls to building new kitchens and walls and painting any piece of furniture I find...I'm trying to learn how to do it all. My husband thinks I'm nuts, but there's no other way I'd like it :). I hope you enjoy reading my journey to HGTV stardom' (ha ha....in my dreams)!
This entry was posted in Furniture Redo, painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

