Window Chalk Paint

Hey guys!

Happy Tuesday! Hope you all had a nice weekend and are ready for Thanksgiving! I want to show you a fun way to use the famous chalk paint. I love the blogs that talk about painting it on a wall, but I am a clean freak and that’d drive me crazy…so I remembered I had a ton of old windows & thought it’d be cool to spray the window panes with chalk paint. I bought a can of chalk paint (only 6$ at lowes!!) and taped the edges of the window with painters tape so the messy spray paint wouldn’t get on the white that I wanted to keep on the edges…then went out side and sprayed the panes! ImageImage

Btw I found this elephant at a garage sale and just spray painted it metallic gold! (I LOVE elephants).

I loved how it looked and LOVE chalk paint, so decided to do another window but jazz it up even more. So for this window I sanded the window edges down and I painted the outer edges of the window a yellow that I had leftover from chairs I had painted. I didn’t want each window pane to be chalk so I remembered I had some navy and white chevron WRAPPING PAPER and taped that to the back of three of the panes. **NOTE: anytime you see a cute wrapping paper design, (marshalls has the best) grab it, because wallpaper is a great design tool!** You’ll see in my kitchen reno I used this navy chevron wrapping paper-so stay tuned! A few days after all that dried I again taped the outer edges real well with painters tape and spray painted the last three panes with the chalk paint. You have to do two real good coats and if you notice it didn’t cover every inch, just keep spraying! Let it dry for a full day before using.

Image

Hope you enjoyed this! Please comment with any questions & I’ll do my best to help clarify!

XOXO

Amanda-Andy

About Amanda Andy Sudol

I'm a city nurse trying to kick pediatric cancer's ass while taking my frustrations out on furniture & house reno in the suburbs. I also renovate anything that I possibly can get my hands on. From knocking down ceilings & walls to building new kitchens and walls and painting any piece of furniture I find...I'm trying to learn how to do it all. My husband thinks I'm nuts, but there's no other way I'd like it :). I hope you enjoy reading my journey to HGTV stardom' (ha ha....in my dreams)!
This entry was posted in painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Window Chalk Paint

  1. pinparent says:

    This is great. I love that chalk paint. It is such a brilliant invention. It is great for DIY projects for the young ones.

Leave a Reply

