Dining Room Table

Hi friends!

I have been debating what my first post should be about, and I decided to start with my dining room table. My mom is the lady who has inspired me to “curb pick” and turn all junk/garbage into beautiful treasures. When my mom heard my husband and I were buying a house, she immediately started hunting for the “perfect” dining room table. Well in my family that meant going to all the best thrift stores around and constantly scanning the curb for pieces. Luckily, she was in luck! Our favorite spot to hit, Habitat for Humanity was throwing out a broken/run down dining room table=the perfect dining room table. SCORE! After moving into our house, and repainting the ENTIRE first floor in two weeks (see future posts)…I immediately started on the dining room table.

I didn’t take a great before pic, but here is the top when I started to sand…

ImageIMG_2921

This was one of my first big pieces to sand…so I started with the wrong sandpaper, I thought the higher the grit (120) the finer it would sand…WRONG. I thought I was doing so well at this point and this was two days in, whoops. I turned to 60 grit sandpaper and got half of the top of the table sanded down real nice…..Image

when you’re sanding, wear a mask ย and have an old towel handy. I just went over and over the same side until I noticed it turning light and then I would brush the piece down and keep going. There were some broken pieces of woods on the top, so I just removed it and sanded the area down…I wanted the “distressed” look anyway so it worked out perfect.ย Image

Image

After sanding, I wiped the top down real well with a clean cloth. I then used an old rag and dipped it in my FAVORITE wood stain and stained the top….staining the top is very easy you make the rag nice and wet with the stain, wipe it all over the top in smooth motion…wait 15min and take a clean rag and wipe of the top (the excess that didn’t soak into the wood). You can do this as many times as you’d like until you get the desired color you are looking for. Mine took two coats.

I then lightly sanded the bottom of the table, so that my primer would soak in and stay. I then primed and painted the bottom white. FINITIO! Easy Breezy! You can wax the top or coat with polyurethane to have a sleak look, but I wanted mine to look like it was from a barn ha! I love the top and how it’s natural.

ImageIMG_3683

Let me know if you have any questions ๐Ÿ™‚

XOXO

Amanda-Andy

About Amanda Andy Sudol

I'm a city nurse trying to kick pediatric cancer's ass while taking my frustrations out on furniture & house reno in the suburbs. I also renovate anything that I possibly can get my hands on. From knocking down ceilings & walls to building new kitchens and walls and painting any piece of furniture I find...I'm trying to learn how to do it all. My husband thinks I'm nuts, but there's no other way I'd like it :). I hope you enjoy reading my journey to HGTV stardom' (ha ha....in my dreams)!
This entry was posted in Furniture Redo and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dining Room Table

  1. Heather says:

    Yayyyy for garbage picking & thrift store shopping at its finest!! Post the chalkboard window! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Abbie says:

    Hi! Your dining room table looks GREAT! What stain did you use?? Thanks!!

  3. Thanks Abbie! Its Minwax Special Walnut stain (from lowes). Two coats! (and NO polyurethane/glaze/wax on top). TOTAL RUSTIC! I am officially now obsessed with this stain. I also used it on the top of my dresser redo. It’s great because you can put as many coats on as you want, which changes the color/design for each piece of furniture! Hope that helps ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

